• unknown (b.)


A Research Staff Member at IBM since 2000, he has been leading the Wireless Networking Group at Watson since 2008. In the past several years, he has been working closely with Dakshi Agrawal, Seraphin Calo, Ting He, Bong-Jun Ko, Jorge Lobo, Erich Nahum, Vasileios Pappas, Dinesh Verma, Ho Yin Starsky Wong, Murtaza Zafer, and Petros Zerfos on wireless networks, mobile computing, network management, and policy technologies research. He is P1 for National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Project on Measurement Science for Cloud Computing (total of $1.5M funding for 2010 - 2012). Since 2006, he has had a technical leadership role in the ITA (International Technology Alliance for Network and Information Science) program, funded by US and UK governments. As Industrial Technical Area Leader for Network Theory, he has been collaborating with Prof. Don Towsley (UMass), Prof. Kin Leung (Imperial College), Prof. Jon Crowcroft (Cambridge), Prof. Mario Gerla (UCLA), and Dr. Ananthram Swami (ARL) to shape the research agenda in networking research. He received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2000; a B.S. and an M.S. from Seoul National University in 1992 and 1994, respectively. He has been a recipient for the C.W. Gear Award (1999), IBM Research Division Award (2003), and IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (2007). In 2004, he served as Secretary of IEEE TCCC (Technical Committee on Computer Communications) and President of Korean Computer Scientists and Engineers Association in America (KOCSEA). He has been Program co-chair for UKC IST and KOCSEA symposiums. He has also served on TPC of IEEE Infocom, SECON, Globecom, ICC, and Broadcom, and served on NSF review panels. Kang-Won is a senior member of ACM and IEEE.
  • Gender:

  • Noted For:

    Collaborator on wireless networks, mobile computing, network management, and policy technologies research
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: