• unknown (b.)


Executive Director of the Institute for Cyber Security at the University of Texas at San Antonio since 2007, where he holds the Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair in Cyber Security in the Department of Computer Science, he was born in India where he was schooled at Doon School in Dehradun, India. He has been a U.S. Citizen since 1997. He holds B.Tech. and M.Tech. Degrees from IIT Bombay and Delhi, respectively and he received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Rutgers University in New Jersey. Prior to this position at the University of Texas, San Antonio, he was on the faculty at Ohio State University from 1982 to 1989 and at George Mason University from 1989 to 2007. He is a 2001 ACM Fellow, 2002 IEEE Fellow, and a 2008 AAAS Fellow. He has received awards from IEEE, ACM, NSA and NIST including the 2004 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award, "For outstanding and pioneering contributions to information security including innovation of the role-based access control model and usage control." In addition, he is a recipient of the 2008 ACM SIGSAC Outstanding Contribution Award; the 2012 ACM SIGSAC Outstanding Innovation Award and the (1992 and 1998) NIST/NSA National Computer Security Conference Best Paper Awards. A prolific and highly cited author, his research has been funded by NSF, NSA, NIST, DARPA, AFOSR, ONR, AFRL and private industry. He has co-authored over 250 papers having accumulated over 25,000 Google Scholar citations. His paper on role-based access control established it as the dominant form of access control in practical systems accumulating over 6,000 citations. His numerous other models and mechanisms have also had considerable influence. He is ranked as the number one non-cryptographer and number five overall at Microsoft Academic Search for Security and Privacy. He is Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Dependable and Secure Computing, and founding General Chair of the ACM Conference on Data and Application Security and Privacy. He has served as founding Editor-in-Chief of ACM Transactions on Information and System Security and on the Editorial Board for IEEE Internet Computing. He was Chairman of ACM SIGSAC, and founded the ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security and the ACM Symposium on Access Control Models and Technologies and chaired their Steering Committees for many years. He has served as General Chair, Program Chair and Committee Member for numerous security conferences. From 2000 to 2010 he was Co-Founder and Chief Scientist of TriCipher, a Silicon Valley security start-up which was acquired by VMW in 2010. In addition to being a worldwide lecturer, he has consulted for leading industry and government organizations including: McAfee, Trusted Information Systems, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Verizon, SETA Corporation, Argonne National Laboratory, Singapore Management University, Northrop Grumman, and Integris Health. He is an inventor on 29 security technology patents. At the Institute for Cyber Security he leads multiple teams conducting research on many aspects of cyber security including secure information sharing, social computing security, cloud computing security, secure data provenance, attribute-based access control and botnet analysis and detection, in collaboration with researchers all across the world.
  • Noted For:

    Leader of multiple teams conducting research on several aspects of cyber security and inventor on 29 security technology patents
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: