• unknown (b.)


A Professor of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, he is PI for an NSF REU Site, PI for the NSF CISE BPC Commonwealth Alliance for Information Technology Education (CAITE), Co-Director of the Commonwealth Information Technology Initiative (CITI), and Co-Director of the RIPPLES, Multimedia Teaching and Learning Research Group. He received his B.S. degree in 1966 and his M.E.(E) degree in 1967 from Cornell University; and his Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin in 1971. He was Program Director of Theoretical Computer Science for the National Science Foundation (NSF) from 1976-1978. After a brief period with the National Bureau of Standards, he returned to NSF in 1980 as Program Director of Special Projects in Computer Science. From 1982 until 1985 he was Program Director of Coordinated Experimental Research, and then served as Deputy Division Director of Computer Research. He founded the Applied Computing Systems Institute of Massachusetts; a corporation designed to transfer technology developed at the University of Massachusetts; and from 1988-2000, he served as its President and Chairman of the Board. He joined the Department of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in 1986 as Professor and Chair. He served as Chair of the Department of Computer Science from 1986-1994. He has served several times as a Senior Manager at the National Science Foundation, most recently as a Division Director and Senior Advisor in CISE from 1999-2003. Previously, he held NSF positions including Senior Scientist, Deputy Division Director, and Program Manager. He also held permanent and visiting positions with The University of Texas, Austin, Oregon State University, National Bureau of Standards, and he held adjunct, visiting, and/or sabbatical positions at American University, Georgetown University, the University of California, Berkeley and the Universite' de Paris-Sud Laboratoire de Recherche en Informatique. He was the founder and served as Editor in Chief of ACM Transactions on Software Engineering and Methodology. He is a fellow of the ACM and of the AAAS and has received distinguished service awards from the University, ACM-SIGSOFT and the Computing Research Association. In recognition for his leadership and achievements, he was honored with the 2010 President’s Public Service Award for his role in developing, broadening, expanding and improving computing and information technology activities for students in K-12 and higher education throughout the Commonwealth. His dedication to providing access to women and minorities in the field of computer technology and sciences is legendary. This commitment has been exhibited through his work in establishing the Commonwealth Information Technology Initiative and the Commonwealth Alliance for Information Technology Education. His research interests are in the areas of multimedia technology for teaching and learning; analysis and verification of concurrent, real-time computing systems; and models for technology transfer and diffusion. His interests in pedagogy and technologies for learning include automatic capture and indexing of active classroom activities, multimedia authoring tools, and constructivist learning environments. He has focused on pedagogy for incorporating technology in the classroom and distance education. His research in the testing, analysis and verification of complex software systems centers around the definition of a new model of concurrency, development of representations of concurrent and real-time behavior based on this model, and use of the model to guide the modification, combination and application of sequential testing techniques, and extending the models, representations and techniques to systems under real-time constraints. In the area of technology transfer, he has been investigating various models related to university- industry collaboration. He is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was the founding Editor-in-Chief of ACM Transactions on Software Engineering and Methodology. He has served on the organizing and program committees for numerous conferences, including as General Chair of the IEEE International Conference on Software Engineering and the ACM Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering. He has served on several federal advisory committees and boards, including NSF/CISE, NSF/CDA. NSF/NCRI, NIH/NLM. NIH/NINDS, NASA/CESDIS, NRC/COSEPUP and the National Superconducting Supercollider. He was a founding member of the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors.