• unknown (b.)


Recognized with the 2004 Internet Society's prestigious Jonathan B. Postel Service Award, as the co-founder of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), he has been instrumental in defining and shaping the way in which the IETF standards process functions. He was awarded the Postel Service Award in recognition of his early leadership of the IETF and for firmly establishing the principles that are essential for its success. The award was presented on August 5th, 2012, during the 60th meeting of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) in San Diego, California. It was noted by the Internet Society President and CEO Lynn St.Amour, that the continued success of the Internet Engineering Task Force's consensus-based processes shows the importance of his pioneering work in developing the IETF's foundations. According to Steve Crocker, noted Internet authority and chair of this year's Postel award committee, "Many of the IETF's current structures, including Working Groups, Technical Areas, Proceedings and Internet Drafts came about thanks to his dedication and passion for the Internet standards area." He is currently Director of Academics and Technology for the Northern Virginia ECPI College of Technology, has worked with the Internet community for over 20 years. His career has taken him from working with government-funded research projects through to networking engineering responsibilities for large corporations and startups, including leading the development of MCI Corporation's first national network. In 1986 he helped found the Internet Engineering Task Force. He became the first official chair in 1987 - a position he held for seven years. During his chairmanship, the IETF evolved from a government-sponsored research group to an industry-wide Internet standards body. As well as contributing to developing the IETF standards process itself, he played an active role as co-chair of the IETF Routing and Addressing Working Group. This group led to solutions for growth-related Internet problems and was instrumental in specifying the initial direction for the next generation Internet Protocol (IPv6) in RFC 1719. He also served as a member of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) from 1987 to 1996.
  • Noted For:

    Leader of the development of MCI Corporation's first national network
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: