• 1950 July 18
    (b.) - ?


An American University Distinguished Professor of Computer Science in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at the University of Tennessee, he holds the position of a Distinguished Research Staff member in the Computer Science and Mathematics Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and is an Adjunct Professor in the Computer Science Department at Rice University. He holds the Turing Fellowship in the schools of Computer Science and Mathematics at the University of Manchester. He is the founding Director of Innovative Computing Laboratory. He grew up in Chicago and studied mathematics at Chicago State College. An internship at Argonne National Laboratory involved him in the EISPACK project and fostered a life-long interest in mathematical software. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics from Chicago State University in 1972 and a Master of Science degree in Computer Science from the Illinois Institute of Technology in 1975. After graduation he went to work full time at Argonne, developing mathematical software. He received his Doctor of Philosophy degree in Applied Mathematics from the University of New Mexico in 1980 under the supervision of Cleve Moler and worked as a visiting scientist at Los Alamos. He worked at the Argonne National Laboratory from 1972 until 1989, becoming a Senior Scientist. In 1989 he accepted a joint position between the University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory and since then has served as a member of the Distinguished Research Staff in the Computer Science and Mathematics Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He specializes in numerical algorithms in linear algebra, parallel computing, the use of advanced-computer architectures, programming methodology, and tools for parallel computers. His research includes the development, testing and documentation of high quality mathematical software. He has contributed to the design and implementation of the following open source software packages and systems: EISPACK, LINPACK, the BLAS, LAPACK, ScaLAPACK, Netlib, PVM, MPI, NetSolve, TOP500, ATLAS, and PAPI. With Eric Grosse, he pioneered the open source distribution of numeric source code via email with Netlib, a repository of software for scientific computing maintained by AT&T, Bell Laboratories, the University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Netlib comprises a large number of separate programs and libraries. Most of the code is written in Fortran, with some programs in other languages. He has published approximately 300 articles, papers, reports and technical memoranda and is a co-author of several books. He was awarded the IEEE Sid Fernbach Award in 2004 for his contributions in the application of high performance computers using innovative approaches; in 2008 he was the recipient of the first IEEE Medal of Excellence in Scalable Computing; in 2010 he was the first recipient of the SIAM Special Interest Group on Supercomputing's award for Career Achievement; in 2011 he was the recipient of the IEEE IPDPS Charles Babbage Award; and in 2013 he was the recipient of the ACM/IEEE Ken Kennedy Award, ?For influential contributions to mathematical software, performance measurement, and parallel programming, and significant leadership and service within the HPC community". He is a Fellow of the AAAS, ACM, SIAM, and the IEEE and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.
  • Date of Birth:

    1950 July 18
  • Noted For:

    Co-developer of the LINPACK and LAPACK libraries, which have provided the benchmark for the world’s 500 fastest computers since 1993
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: